Possible additional 50,000 American Express Points just for calling

For anybody who recently applied for an American Express Platinum card….There is a hot thread on FlyerTalk about people getting a bonus of 100,000 Membership Reward points (or 50,000 points, the difference from their initial signup bonus) for calling in.  Apparently there was another promotion running at the same time where they were giving out 100,000 points after spending $1,000 in the first 3 months.  Here is the FlyerTalk thread.  As per that thread, I sent a secure message yesterday, and later that day, I got a denial message back.  So, like any other person in the “game,”  I refused that as answer.  I called today and asked (very nicely, praising the card, stating my flawless history with them) if they could, on a gesture of good faith, award me the extra 50,000 Membership Reward points for that signup bonus since my bonus was only 50,000 points.  I stated that I knew the Promotion Offer ID: 3882.  After stating that, and after the agent did some digging, he did in fact find a promotion that matched what I was talking about.  After putting me on hold, talking to his supervisor, said that I should be awarded the points.  However, the catch was that I needed to call back after I spent the $1000.  (Currently I already passed it, but the spend is on the current statement, and the statement needs to close and be paid for).  So now I have to wait a few weeks for it to close, then pay for it, then I should be able to see the full, glorious 100,000 Membership Reward points in my account.

If you recently signed up for one, take the 10 minutes, call the number on the back of your card, and try to get those extra points.  After you enter your card number, say “Membership Rewards”, then say “Representative.”  Then praise them and ask nicely for those extra points stating the Promo Offer ID: 3882.  Good Luck.  Hope it works out for you.

5 Responses to “Possible additional 50,000 American Express Points just for calling”

  1. […]  So I need to get to 230,000 miles on British Airways somehow.  (Let’s not forget the extra 50,000 Membership Reward Points I was given just for making a phone call!)  My options […]

  2. […] 50,000 Membership rewards points for making a phone call […]

  3. as an existing cardmember, this did not work for me. Darn!

    • Sometime during the Summer 2011 I think, American Express started cracking down on calling in to get the “best bonus.” Now they are only giving extra bonuses out if you are actually targeted for them. There were a few other lucrative bonuses which were very short lived, which I unfortunately didn’t take advantage of.

      • regardless, the Amex product is GREAT. Did you know that roadside assistance is also included? They will pay for towing of your car (up to 10 miles and/or $50) and a few other things (tire change etc.)

Leave a Reply

